Age is just a number

What if a year didn’t exist . . . would that mean your birthday would never come round again? Would you have grown older physically and more stable emotionally without gaining any numerical figures? Would that be a good thing or a hold back in allowing you to bloom and flourish?

Whatever religion, culture or background you are nurtured from, everybody eagerly awaits for their birthday. Significantly it is regarded as a mini milestone in your life – a milestone that clutters closely together to form your age. However, when I really think about it, my brain waffles in a variety of responses. It seems like a boast of wisdom, a pride of experience and an ego for confidence.

In all honesty, I doubt we would recognise the rapid elapse of a second in which we transform from one age to another. After all, age is just a number.

5 thoughts on “Age is just a number

  1. aramsey_poet says:

    I’m 29 right now, I can say that you are correct. Years are counted for worthless reasons. I once wrote a poem mocking the sometimes prideful and useless idea of counting years. I found much truth to your ideas.

    Like

    • flawedsilence says:

      Is your poem anywhere to be found by any chance? Yeah I agree. I feel like our ages are used to boast of achievements your supposed to reach in each passing of a year. Oh I’m 18 – passed my licence. 24 or so – I just graduated. It’s your wisdom and personality/character that counts the most.

      Liked by 1 person

      • aramsey_poet says:

        I have found the poem, it is in my book Drinking the Ink. Called – Ruse. If you want just the poem I can send it to you. Either use my contact form or if you have one.

        Like

Leave a Reply

